The History of WCPS

In 1968, a number of productivity organizations resolved to form the World Confederation of Productivity Science. These founding organizations were:

  • the Institute of Work Study Practitioners, in the United Kingdom
  • the Australian Institute of Industrial Engineers
  • the Irish Work Study Institute
  • the Work Study Association of South Africa
  • the Indian Institution of Work Study

The Confederation formally came into existence in March, 1969. The ‘architect’ of its creation – and its first President – was Dr. J.E.Faraday.

The first World Productivity Congress was held in April 1969 in London and was the first time that a global gathering of productivity experts had been held. The theme was Work Study, Productivity and the World Standard of Living and keynote speakers included:

  • Professor Alex W. Rathe, a past President of the American Institute of Industrial Engineers (representing the USA)
  • Sir Walter Scott, probably the most distinguished name in management in the Southern Hemisphere (representing Australia)
  • Dr. J.R. de Jong, the president of the European Work Study Federation, (representing Europe)
  • General B. D. Kapur and Brigadier K. Pennathur (representing the Asian point of view)

Altogether 32 speakers from 12 different countries created an event that could be described as truly intercontinental and as the Congress was brought to a close by an address by Admiral of the Fleet The Earl Mountbatten of Burma, it certainly proved to be a memorable occasion and the start of long line of influential Congresses.

Since those simple but important beginnings, the Confederation has grown to represent many more countries, and has established the Academy (World Academy of Productivity Science) to recognize and honor those who have made a significant contribution to productivity science.